ChineseRestaurantCapitalism

keeping the economy honest

Custom made garbage can for you!

Do you find it frustrating that when you pull the garbage bag out of the can, it’s still half empty?  In my case, the bag is too big for the can.  I’ve been living with the garbage can/bag mismatch problem  for a while.  Back in school, I was too cheap to buy real garbag bags, so I use the grocery store bags which are too small for most cans.  But  it doesn’t stay on the can for very long, especially after you throw some garbage of substance into it, the bag would just fall in the can with the garbage.

Now, my wife buys high quality bags with nice integrated ties.  So I like to get the most use out of them.  I take it out and lean the half empty bag against the can on the outside, so I can put a big more garbage into it before I throw it out.  But my wife doesn’t like a open ended bag slouching against the garbage can.  I agree with her, I almost had a garbage avanlanch a couple of times when it didn’t lean right.  So after throwing out many under-utilized garbag bags out, I finally decided to make my own garbage can out of wood.

I think it looks pretty good.  And for those people like Merrill Lynch CEO John Thain, who paid $1,200 for a wastebasket and enjoys my handmade, custom designed and cherry wood waste can, you can contact me for a special discount through this blog.  And for those people who can’t afford my high quality garbage can, they should really sell garbage cans with garbage bags together, so they will match.  Or they should standardize the size, like they do with beds.

4 responses to “Custom made garbage can for you!

  1. Michelle January 31, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    Honestly, I don’t think that many people have this problem with using grocery store plastic bags, haha. YES, the bag does “fall into the can” once you put something in it which is severely annoying, but it doesn’t bother me to the point where I have to buy those nicer bags so that it won’t happen (then again, I like to save money where possible…). At my parents’ house they have those “garbage hooks” under the sink where you just put a plastic bag on it and throw away to your heart’s content! My mom actually pays for those 5 cent bags at T&T (like she will buy 5 items and ask for 5 bags because she likes the bags, and the cashier looks at her like she’s crazy) because she thinks they are such good quality (they aren’t the “stretchy rubber” like at Superstore or other grocery stores – they hold up better). Hmm… now I’m just rambling.

    • natepolean January 31, 2011 at 11:22 pm

      I know there’re workarounds for the grocery bags, but I actually prefer the larger bags since the wife does a lot of cooking and I’m the one responsible for throwing the garbage out. We just didn’t find the right sized garbage can for it. I can’t believe your mom payss for T&T bags….I would even stuff all my pockets before I pay for plastic bags. I like the Whole Foods system, paper bags are free, but if you reuse your paper bag, they take 10cents of your purchase.

  2. Michelle February 4, 2011 at 10:43 am

    WOW! You uploaded a picture of your garbage can – it looks so good! So profesional, can you make me one now :)? Haha, just kiding :).

Leave a Reply

